Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Situated in the Crater Highlands in Northern Tanzania, the Ngorongoro Conservation Area is best known for its archaeological and geological significance, rich wildlife, and beautiful scenery. The conservation area encompasses the famous Crater, the renowned Olduvai Gorge and vast plains of grasslands, forests and mountains extending to the Serengeti. This 8000-square-kilometre protected area is recognised for its natural beauty and has been placed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Visitors flock here to soak up the spectacular views of the Ngorongoro Crater, voted as one of the Seven Natural Wonders of Africa, it is famed for its natural beauty and abundant wildlife.

There are nine craters in Ngorongoro Conservation Area. The names of the craters are:- 1. Keramasi 2. Empakaai 3. Lolmalasin 4. Losirua 5 Olmoti 6. Ngorongoro 7. Oldean 8. Loroklukunya 9. Sadiman and Makaruti. The highest crater in Ngorongoro is Lolmalasin at 3,700 metres above the sea level. The breathtaking Ngorongoro Crater is the biggest with the size of 304 square kilometers. Before it collapsed, the Ngorongoro Crater was said to have been 4,587 metre above the sea level. Kilimanjaro which is a crater, not a caldera is the highest mountain in Africa. The heart of the NCA is Ngorongoro crater which is well known as the world’s largest intact volcanic caldera (crater) and is the home of elephants, lions, leopards, rhinos and buffalo.




Planning an African Safari?

Ngorongoro Conservation Area Videos

Click to display the map